Another of my assumptions (although this one is changing with the work I have been doing recently) that has been brought to light by CPP2 class is; ‘Motivation and participation levels will be high in my classes because I want to teach physical and outdoor education and they are fun subjects’.

This, like all of my assumptions about teaching, I believe, started in school where I always wanted to participate and have fun in outdoor and P.E classes. From a student’s perspective, most kids seemed to want to do P.E and outdoor ed. classes and enjoyed them for the most part.

I think this assumption also comes from a deep personal love of the outdoors where I will take any chance to get out into nature and do exciting new things. This is where my assumption is changing or being challenged slightly. I have realised through recent work with teenage students that not all of them love the outdoors as much as I do and are not as motivated as I was in school because they don’t enjoy it as much, or at all.

Another reason I believe I assume that student will be motivated and want to participate in my classes comes from working as an outdoor guide. Working for groups taking them abseiling, caving and rock climbing sees me working with people who genuinely want to be there and do the activity, most because they are paying to do it.

My assumption on motivation and participation in P.E and outdoor ed. may also be incorrect too for a couple of other reasons.

P.E and outdoor ed. both contain theory components. Students in these classes, from my experience on prac, see them as a fun, active or even as a ‘bludge classes’. If I am assuming that motivation and participation levels are going to be high in my classes because they are fun and active, how am I going to motivate students when they have to sit at desks and do theory?

Unlike paying clients who I guide in similar outdoor activities, my students won’t be paying to be there. Some of them may not like physical activity and being outdoors. Recently while working I was with a group of year 8 boys, who the whole 3 day trip talked non-stop about playing their X-Boxes and PS3’s rather than embracing being outdoors on a camp. They told me they would rather be at home. While teaching I am sure I will encounter some of these students.

It may be the case that students don’t want to do outdoor ed. or P.E because of more serious underlying issues such as low self esteem or self consciousness. I find that the quote (teaching doing something to which I was becoming) appropriate to my train of thought here as I used to feel with students and kids I coached that if they didn’t want to participate, why would they come rock climbing? Now I feel my attitude is changing for the better and I see it as a challenge to bring kids up to a higher level. These kids may want to participate, but they might be too self conscious of have a self esteem issue preventing them from participating.

I feel that this assumption that students will be motivated and participate in my classes because I will be teaching P.E and outdoor ed. links to the provocations ‘what will students want  and need from me?’ and ‘should we teach students or subjects?’

‘Should we teach subjects or students’ is particularly applicable to this assumption. Even though my assumption is I will be able to teach subjects; P.E and outdoor ed. and that will be enough to motivate my students. I feel that if my assumption is incorrect I will have to teach students. To me this means that I will need to teach students in different ways to motivate them as every student will learn and engage in different ways.

It is obvious that if my students are not motivated and participating that I they will need, maybe not want, different techniques or activities from me to motivate them.  This follows on to ‘what will my students want and need from me?’ if I am teaching students, not subjects in order to motivate my class my students will clearly need me to be flexible in my teaching strategies and methods, to allow for different learning styles and to use a variety of activities to motivate and get all students to want to participate. Leong (2005) writes that allowing students to be creative, promoting deep learning and building a relationship with your students and showing them you care about their success will help improve student’s interest in the class you are teaching. Maybe this sort of motivational teaching could help encourage kids in a health class.

Resources

Leong, L (2005) Improving students’ interest in learning; Some positive techniques. Journals on Information Systems Education. 16. 129-132. Retrieved from University of Canberra E-Reserve.